Wash, Tashi, and the Tardis Urn

So, I was debating whether I wanted to write a blog post on this topic. On one hand, it seems (to me) like such a private and sensitive thing, and also I don’t want to appear to be using this very cool experience as way to get publicity. Yet on the other hand, I am so incredibly proud, humbled, and grateful to have been a part of this, that sharing about it won out. And if I can’t share these kinds of things on my own blog, why should I even have one, right?

A little over a month ago, a post showed up on Regretsy.com which told the story of a young man Wash and his wife Tashi, who have been battling brain cancer that he’d been diagnosed with over two years ago. It’s a tear-jerker of a story and you should totally click over and read it.
Tashi reached out to the Regretsy community (which is a powerful mofo, lemme tell you), in search of an urn for Wash’s eventual cremains. Specifically, an urn in the shape of the Doctor Who TARDIS. A dying man’s wish.

My first reaction to the request was, wow, this is right up my alley. In fact, I had made, just a few months prior, a Tardis Urn for another family. But my next thought was, of course, No, I’m sure with Regretsy on the case, they’ll get someone amazing to do this in like 2 seconds. (I have issues with judging my self worth and that of my work, in case you were wondering. )
It’s funny, the little things..but within the day, I got a message through Etsy from a person I didn’t even know, asking if I’d seen the Regretsy post, and encouraging me to offer my work. I was blown away. That was all the prompting I needed, and I sat down and wrote an email including pictures and specs to April Winchell aka Helen Killer at Regretsy.

Within a few hours, I got a reply from April, and then another reply:

Well, needless to say, I was thrilled to be corresponding with April, ‘cuz she’s, like, a celebrity. An internet demigod. I thought it was pretty cool. Especially seeing that she thought my work merited 4 exclamation points. *squeee*

After that, three weeks went by, and I didn’t hear anything else. I was a little disappointed, because that certainly meant that they chose someone else to make the urn, which wasn’t too surprising, being that the whole of the Internet seemed to have come out to support Wash and Tashi.
But then! On April 5th, I got a short email from April asking if I was still interested, plus a forwarded email from Tashi, in which said: … ‘When Wash saw Rebekka’s email though and her work he was just captivated. “That’s it! That one!”‘
Of course, I immediately replied YES. And I got to work on it that very day.
Two days later Regretsy posted an update on the urn search, which mentioned me.
Again – coolest. thing. EVER. My name on a blog, that I myself read??? Awesome.

I corresponded with Tashi, who is just about the sweetest gal out there. And her blog, Learning to Hope…jeez…your heart just goes out to them.

I was able to get the urn finished in just about 2 weeks (it would have been less time, but Seattle Pottery Supply is still being lame about keeping my glaze in stock…so frustrating. But the folks at The Potter’s Shack in Portland are awesome, FYI).
I really think it’s the best Tardis I’ve made to date.

Wash requested some special custom details, which I did my very best to apply.

A small chemical equation (oxygen –> gold), a reference to Watchmen. And written inside the lid, the words As you wish.

The urn arrived to Wash and Tashi’s place yesterday and they’ve blogged about receiving it. And I think this picture right here is the one that just hits home for me:

Wash with his Tardis

So, thank you Wash and Tashi, for letting me be a part of this. You are amazing.

12 Comments

Filed under Blog love, Day to Day, Events, Jadeflower Ceramics

12 responses to “Wash, Tashi, and the Tardis Urn

  1. Marti

    Beautiful story with a bittersweet ending.

  2. Jesse

    You did a wonderful job on the Tardis for this sweet couple. Thank you for your generosity.

  3. BureaucracyGirl

    I’m a longtime friend of theirs who has watched the Internet overflow with support for them. Thank you, indeed for being a part of it! Beautiful work!

  4. I’m a friend of Tashi’s thanks to the wonderful Interwebs. I am so impressed by your work, and I appreciate you making Wash’s final wish, so to speak, come true. I think the TARDIS is wonderfully symbolic. It’s beautiful. Thank you for being amazing!

  5. Rosanna

    My husband Jack and I (in Pennsylvania) are also longtime online friends of Wash and Tashi’s, and I think it’s wonderful—-(and also very appropriate, too)—-that you shared this very cool experience with all the readers of your blog. When anyone kindly does something………… (i.e., particularly of a personally-HANDcrafted nature, which was what you did, making your *beautiful* TARDIS urn for Wash!!)………… I personally feel the sharing OF that kind gesture genuinely *I.N.S.P.I.R.E.S.* others to………… also extend their own, very unique kindness(es) to those around them, too………… i.e., so then you’ve essentially done *e.v.e.r.y.o.n.e.* a favor, Rebekka………… simply by sharing your individual experience, you know!!

    I’m not Irish, nor Irish-American, but this—-directly Below—-is my wish for dear, talented, and very humble you; (and, by the way, this is quite different from the familiar “May The Road Rise To Meet You” -style of Irish Blessings, too)!!:

    A TRADITIONAL IRISH BLESSING

    Warm be the love that surrounds you,
    Good be your friends, and true,
    Constant be hope and promise,
    Useful the work that you do —

    Close be your family around you,
    Good health be yours day by day,
    Long be the life that you’re living,
    And full of much joy on the way!

  6. Jason

    Thank you for making this. I know it means a lot to both.

  7. Cherish

    That is so awesome, I wish I could get one for my Dad, he loved Doctor Who, He just died today and we be cremated in a couple of days.

  8. Austin Sullivan

    It really is a FANTASTIC thing you did, and the quality of your work is simply splendid. I have been looking for a TARDIS urn for my uncle Russ, and I was wondering if you would be willing to make another like this ( with the saint John’s ambulance sticker from William Hartnells TARDIS) and how much it would cost. Once again I would just like to say that your work is absolutely beautiful. I’ve looked through what feels like hundreds of urns like this, and yours just stands out as if alive; like a true TARDIS should.

  9. Art

    Hello, my wife passed away yesterday. We have been a Dr. Who fan for over 36 yrs. I would like to know if you can make a Tardis Urn that will fit 2? It will be my wish to be comingled with my wife again when that time comes.

    Thanks,
    Art

Leave a Reply

