a litany of teapots

Is it ironic that the more stuff I have to do, the less time I have to share what I’m doing? I hate having the radio silence on the blog here! But I’m just so dang busy with all my orders…I feel that the blog has been neglected quite badly. But hey, when you don’t hear from me for ages, just think to yourself, ‘Ahh she must be quite busy right now!’ That would be the truth.

But if you’re curious as to what I’ve been doing the last two months, let me show you with a picture:

32 tardis teapots

Teapots have been my life for the last 2.5 months (and no break in sight!). I did take a few days off at Christmas, but my timetable suffered for it, and I am behind in my ETA’s. Not only because of a few days rest, but I just didn’t have a clue as to how long each one would take to make, realistically, when they all piled up at once. I am trying desperately to catch up, and I am busting my butt! I am just so grateful that I have awesome customers who understand that handmade items take time.

But the above image is kinda fun, huh? (click on the picture for a larger version) You can really see that no two are identical. There is also a kind of evolution going on. Mainly due to the shape of the spout – I make each one by hand – forming the solid shape, letting it harden slightly, slicing it down the middle, hollowing it out, re-attaching both halves, and then attaching to the body.
*There is a great video tutorial on how to make a curvy spout here.

And yes, I had a request for a green Tardis teapot!

Alright, well that’s enough from me for now! I gotta get back to work, hah! 🙂
Until next time!

3 Comments

Filed under Etsy, Jadeflower Ceramics

3 responses to “a litany of teapots

  1. Hi Rebekka,

    I was just lucky enough to receive one of your beautiful TARDIS teapots as a Christmas gift. It is just perfect and I wanted to let you know how happy my mother was with your professional and personal service, and how delighted I was when I saw the teapot sitting on my bookshelf! It is beautifully crafted and is now one of my most treasured things. Thank you so much!

  2. I’m so glad that you like it!! 🙂
    I enjoyed working with your mother on it! And she was pretty excited that you and I share the same name spelling (that doesn’t happen too often!)

  3. Pingback: Whosday: TARDIS of the Week #5 « One Girl Geek

Leave a Reply

