Mirror, mirror…

I am a self-professed Goodwill (or any thrift/antique store, garage sale) junkie. M will often roll his eyes at me when we pass one, and I say, “Can we look for just a minute!”

I can’t help it, I love old & used stuff.

old metal filigree mirror

So in my last visit to my favorite Seattle Goodwill, as I was scouting for other things on my list, I found this old, heavy, dusty, flaking, gold-colored metal mirror. I am a sucker for fancy filigree, so long as it isn’t cheap or flimsy or fake. This little mirror was darling! and only $1.99 – score!!

So I’ve seen lots of tutorials and before/after shots of SO many household items that have been given a second life with a new coat of spray paint. Until now, I had resisted the temptation to cover every piece of interesting junk I could find with bright colors. But here, I succumbed.

mirror frame, first coat

I loved the weightiness of this mirror, but I didn’t love the worn, flaky gold color. I decided to paint it a teal blue/green to match our livingroom area rug and throw pillows. I asked what M thought when I showed him my bargain treasure find, and he said – Awesome idea. 🙂 That teal is one of M’s favorite colors.

We found a good color match at our local Fred Meyer hardware department – a Rustoleum hue called Lagoon, smooth-satin finish.

Rust-oleum Lagoon

It took me about 10 light coats of paint over 3 days to get the amount of coverage I liked. This stuff was very easy to work with, and it dried really quickly, so I did 3-4 coats each day. It was tricky getting into all the nooks and crannies of this mirror! But in the end:

refinished mirror, detail

 

refinished mirror, Lagoon blue

It looks fantastic! It’s tough to get the color just right in the pictures here – it looks more greenish in real life. And it goes perfectly with our pops of teal in the living room. Now I just have to figure out where to put it… 🙂

gotta love bright pops of color

So I still have a whole can of beautiful teal spray paint…Now, what else can I refinish? 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Crafts, DIY

4 responses to “Mirror, mirror…

  1. This is straight YHL material right here! 🙂 lol. I love the color you chose; even if it isn’t the true color of what it looks like in person. I’ve been itching to do something similar…..but I need to find something to paint first! You might consider looking for thrift mirrors or frames and removing the centers after you paint them. You could then use them all as picture frames or frames for 3D art around your living room to match your rug. Or, you could paint old TV trays. Just a thought. 🙂

    • RebekkaFerbrache

      Aw, thanks Christina! I love YHL ^_^ They do the coolest projects – they are definitely an inspiration for me. Good call on your other suggestions! I actually have a vintage tv tray that may need a makeover…hmmm 🙂

  2. karina

    It looks great! You didn’t have to use primer? I just saw a mirror that could use a make-over at Goodwill. Going today to see if it’s still there!

    • RebekkaFerbrache

      Thanks Karina! I didn’t use primer, though I’m sure it wouldn’t hurt if you decided to. This mirror hangs on a wall, so it doesn’t get handled, and I haven’t had any problems with paint flaking off.

Leave a Reply

