Busy busy…and rambling thoughts

I’ve been super busy in my studio for a while now. The custom orders have been rolling in, which has been SO exciting. And I love that I get to create these unique items (or whole series of items) for people that I would never have been connected with, if not for that magical invention, the internet.

But spending  8+ hours in my teeny little studio every day really makes me realize, YES this is my full-time occupation now. It is both scary and exhilarating (maybe that’s two sides to the same coin).

There are still so many little things I need to learn about running my own business. I’ll get there, but I’m sure the learning curve will be steep. I just have to remember to take advantage of all the great resources I have available to me, and not be afraid to ask for help and advice.

A big challenge for me is focus – in the sense of artistic focus, branding, and product selection. I’d love to present this really polished pristine image to the world, but on the other hand I always feel so pulled in a million directions! I want to make every little idea that pops into my head (and a lot of the time I do…though I don’t all ways post them in my shop for sale since they are such odd-balls!).

I’m brainstorming ideas to streamline some of my items, especially the two-tone faux bois stuff, which may not look it, but the glazing on those takes hours! I know there is a more efficient way.

But ANYWAYS, what I really wanted to share was a couple of awesome Doctor Who* inspired items that were custom made for two different customers (…speaking of odd-ball items, Dr Who, what!? But really I love making this kind of stuff).

My Made-To-Order Tardis coin bank has been getting lots of attention on Etsy, and I love that there are so many Doctor Who fans out there (in the US, even! haha)

Doctor Who Tardis Ceramic Coin Bank by jadeflower

 

Doctor Who Tardis Bank, made to order

 

Tardis and Dalek custom ceramic coin banks

That’s right. I made a Dalek coin bank. My awesome customer asked if it was possible, which I immediately replied with “Yes! That is totally doable!!” After which I then had to figure out how to make a Dalek, haha. But I did! And it turned out so great! I love all the details.

Ironside Dalek, custom order ceramic bank

Both of these items shipped out on Monday, and I’m kind of waiting with bated breath and praying that a) they arrive to their destinations in perfect condition and b) they are everything my customers desired of them. The first part always makes me so nervous – of course I package my items as securely as humanly possible – double-boxing, lots of foam peanuts, make sure that if you shake the boxes like crazy nothing shifts inside, even a little bit! But still…you never know how the multiple people who eventually handle your package will treat it.

 

*I think it goes without saying, but in any case, I am in no way affiliated with the Doctor Who TV program or the BBC or anything. I’m just a fan who likes to make things. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Jadeflower Ceramics

2 responses to “Busy busy…and rambling thoughts

  1. These are super cool! You must be very imaginative and daring! Great job.

  2. Katie M

    you go girl!

Leave a Reply

