Blackberry Cream-Cheese-Filled Muffins

I’ve been a very remiss blogger, and I do apologize! You know sometimes you just get into those ruts where you don’t think you have anything interesting to say.
Well, I’m going to try to break out of that mentality!

October First already! I don’t know about you, but I love the fall. Autumn is one of those seasons that I think you hate as a kid, but grow to adore as an adult. I love the crispness in the air, and the changing leaves, and all the bounty of the harvest. Thoughts turn indoors as the days get shorter.

Blackberry Cream Cheese Filled muffins
One bit of bounty that has carried over from summer is the stash of blackberries in my freezer. My dad is notorious for picking (and hoarding) loads of blackberries that grow wild all over the place out here. Last time I was visiting home, my mom told me to take some with me – I discovered at least a dozen 1-gallon bags of frozen berries in their freezer! Yes please, I’ll take some.

I combined a couple of recipes to create these yummy muffins. They are perfect for breakfast, snack, or after a meal (any excuse works for me!)
Blackberry muffin batter adapted from Simply Recipes, and Cream Cheese Filling adapted from The Delicious Life.

Muffin Batter:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tesp cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon milk (or soy milk, etc)
  • 3/4 cup agave nectar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups blackberries (slightly thawed if frozen)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease muffin tins, or use cupcake liners (yields about 18 muffins).
In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, sour cream, milk, agave, oil and vanilla. Add blackberries, and dry ingredients, combine with swift, broad strokes – do not over mix!
Fill each muffin cup 3/4 full, and make an indentation in the center of each (for your cream cheese filling!)

Cream Cheese Filling:

  • 8 oz cream cheese or neufchatel cheese (one block, softened)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup agave

Beat together all the filling ingredients until smooth. You can use a spoon to fill the muffins, or use a piping bag for more control. I filled a ziplock bag with the filling, then snipped the corner off and used it like a piping bag. Fill the center of each muffin until you run out of filling.

Pop the filled muffins into the oven and bake for about 20 minutes, or until starting to brown on top. Cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then transfer to cooling rack.

It’s a little fusion between muffin and cheese cake. Gotta love it ^_^

2 Comments

Filed under food, Recipes

2 responses to “Blackberry Cream-Cheese-Filled Muffins

  1. love the change up with blackberries!

Leave a Reply

