Birdie sneak peak, updated!

A little while back I showed you a pair of cute little birds I had made out of clay. Well, they’re all finished now, fired and glazed!

However, they are really little – only about 1.5 inches tall. And my master baker uncle (who is making our wedding cake) told me that, despite being adorable, a cake topper needs to be larger than that because otherwise they’ll just get lost visually.

So I decided to put my little birdies on a platform, to make it a whole set-piece rather than just the two little actors.
Here’s what I came up with:

(Aren’t they cute??) Now my teeny birds are on a 4″ diameter platform with a cute arching trellis  to give it more height.

I don’t have step-by-step pictures of how I made this topper, but this is the basic way I did it:

My supplies were – a 4″ diameter round foam disc (about 2″ thick), green fabric, white lace applique trim, silk flowers (green and white ranunculus), floral wire twigs, and my birdies.

I took my bare foam disc and wrapped it tightly with my light green fabric, securing with my hot glue gun. On the under side of the disc, I glued a 3″ cardboard circle to cover up the fabric edges.

Now that I had a fabric base to work with, I trimmed the circumference with my lace, which also folded over the top edge.

Then, on top of the lace, I hot-glued the individual silk flowers around the top edge of the base, keeping them tightly spaced.

Next, I made two small holes in the fabric on either side of the top of the base, to place my wire twigs. I just pierced the foam with the ends of the twigs and played with the bend and curve until I liked the shape the twigs made.

All that was left was to put my cute little birdies in their new home! Ready to be placed atop a beautiful wedding cake! ^_^

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts, DIY, Wedding

One response to “Birdie sneak peak, updated!

  1. They are beautiful. I’m looking forward to seeing them on your cake!

Leave a Reply

