Pavlovas with rhubarb sauce

One of the tastiest things I’ve ever made with leftover egg whites…

pavolva with rhubarb sauce

I had a dilemma on my hands, because for the past few days I had a bowl of three egg whites sitting in my refrigerator. They were the leftovers from a couple other recipes I had made that only needed the yolks. So what does one do with leftover egg whites?
I know you can make egg-white omelets, but those have always grossed me out a bit. I thought maybe some sort of meringue pie would be nice…but I didn’t really want to make a whole pie.

After a bit of searching on the ol’ internets, I found this recipe for Pavlovas on one of my favorite foodie blogs, Simply Recipes. As of last night, I had never heard of a pavlova, but what sold me on it (other than using up my egg whites) was that it’s a great way to serve seasonal fruit, and I just bought a bunch of rhubarb and strawberries. πŸ™‚ Perfect.

The recipe is very simple, and it has great instructions and pictures for you to follow. I cut the recipe in half (for 3 whites instead of 6) and I still got six large pavlova boats from it. And they look beautiful!

pavlova boats on parchment

To top these cute little meringue nests, I made a batch of rhubarb sauce with strawberries – a springtime favorite of mine that always makes me think of my grandma. It is such a simple dish. Here is how I make it:

Rhubarb Sauce with Strawberries

4 cups rhubarb – chopped into 1/2″ sections (about 6 good stalks)
2 cups strawberries – chopped into 1/2″ pieces
1/4 cup granulated sugar

(all these measurements are approximate – play around with amounts to find your own ideal ratio!)

Put your rhubarb into a deep pan on the stove top over medium heat. As the rhubarb heats up, it will release water and soften. Stir occasionally to get even heating and break down the larger rhubarb chunks; I like a few intact pieces of rhubarb in my sauce, but I do mash up a lot of it. Stir in the sugar (you can add more or less, depending on how tart you like your rhubarb). The sugar will cause the sauce to thicken. Add the strawberries and cook for another 1-2 minutes. Let the sauce cool. Serve on top of pavlovas, ice cream, french toast, anything! Or eat it my favorite way – straight with a spoon πŸ™‚

pavlovas, rhubarb sauce, tulips

As for the pavlovas topped with rhubarb, I’d say they were a success. So light and fluffy! And you can’t go wrong with rhubarb πŸ™‚
This is definitely an egg-white recipe I’ll be using again!

1 Comment

Filed under food, Recipes

One response to “Pavlovas with rhubarb sauce

  1. Diane

    What a great idea! The first time I ever had pavlova was when we had an Australian exchange teacher. She brough a wonderful fruit dessert very similar to yours. I hadn’t thought of it in a long, long time. You always come up with the most wonderfully imaginative (and delicious) dishes!

Leave a Reply

