Homemade boutonniere

Let’s talk about wedding flowers.

For whatever reason, despite being a self-proclaimed crafty person, I have never gotten the hang of flower arrangements. Perhaps this is just due to not receiving any guidance or instruction in the art of arranging flowers, but the fact is, if you give me a pile of beautiful individual flowers, I will most likely make them look terrible in a vase.

So, I was completely inspired when I read this post on Once Wed several months ago on DIY herbal boutonnieres. The tutorial was so simply laid-out and gave such a charming end result, it made me think that even I could craft a beautiful homemade boutonniere out of plants I have growing on my balcony!

So here is my own attempt to make a green and white boutonniere from plants I already have. This is really only an experiment – I don’t know if I intend to make the groomsmens’ boutonnieres for the wedding day, but at least now I know that I could!

So I gathered up a small stash of plants: Dusty Miller, Lamb’s Ear, two “flowers” I knicked from roadside bushes, rosemary, and mint

I made all of the stems roughly the same length, and then began layering them. I knew the lamb’s ear should be in the back for a nice back ground, then the rosemary and mint, then the white flower-thingy in the middle, and then the Dusty Miller sprigs in front.

I held all the stems together and then wrapped them up with floral tape. I was amazed at how easily I could make something that looks this good! It looks like a real boutonniere, haha ๐Ÿ™‚


So when M got home from work I showed him what I had whipped up, and to my delight he thought it was fantastic. He especially loved that it smelled of rosemary (he loves rosemary). And then he kept petting the lamb’s ears.

So I’d say this was a successful experiment. Even if I don’t end up doing the flowers myself, we’ll at least be able to tell our florist that we want something similar to the herbal boutonniere I concocted. It feels like progress ๐Ÿ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts, DIY, Plants, Wedding

3 responses to “Homemade boutonniere

  1. B, I absolutely love this idea! I have been kicking around ideas for my wedding and I think that I’ve decided to decorate with food because both Scott and I love to cook and eat! Using herb buotonnieres would be an amazing addition! Thank you for posting this….I’m very excited!

  2. That was so creative of you! And great instructions too. I could really do this myself thanks to you. I would not of thought of using rosemary in a boutonniere.

  3. Diane

    Very pretty and what a great idea to use rosemary! I also like the lamb’s ear — soft texture and a pretty color too.

    I can relate to your trouble arranging flowers. I have a terrible time with it. But you did a great job with the boutonniere.

Leave a Reply

