Brown Rice Pudding

Last night we had a veggie stir fry for dinner, and I made a huge pot of brown rice (apparently we eat rice so rarely these days that I am no good at gauging how much to make). Anyways, we had a bunch of left over brown rice. So today I decided to figure out what to do with the leftovers.

When googling “leftover brown rice,” guess what showed up the most – you guessed it, rice pudding.

I have never made rice pudding before, but I do have a memory from elementary school that has (bizarrely) stayed with me: a girl a grade above me (who I would frequently sit with on the bus) had brought in rice pudding for some kind of cultural report/potluck. She let me try it, and I thought it was the strangest idea, but so tasty! I think I embarrassed myself because I kept asking her for more 😛

Anyhoo, here is my first attempt at rice pudding, and I think it turned out great! I modified the generic recipe I settled for online. I used agave instead of sugar, soy milk (plus a touch of half & half), and obviously brown rice instead of white.

It takes about 30-35 minutes total cooking time, and the flavor is beautiful! A not-too-sweet creamy caramelly flavor with a hint of cinnamon and spice.

Leftover Brown Rice Pudding

2 cups cooked brown rice
2 cups regular soy milk
1/2 cup half & half (I wanted to make sure the final dish was really creamy, but you could use all soy milk)
1/2 cup agave nectar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or 1/4 tsp cloves & 1/4 tsp nutmeg)

Combine your rice, milk, vanilla, and salt in a pot and bring to a full boil on the stove. (If all your ingredients are cold, this will take a few minutes, but be sure you’re watching once it gets close to a boil because it WILL boil over!!)

Immediately reduce your heat to a low simmer. Stir occasionally. The pudding will take about 20-25 minutes to thicken. Add in your spices. And if you want, add in raisins, walnuts pieces, what-have-you. Let it cool or eat it warm – enjoy!

So yummy, and you can feel good about it because the recipe uses whole brown rice, agave (which is low-glycemic), and soy milk (if you’re like me and have cut back on dairy).
I’m definitely adding this recipe to my “what to do with leftover rice” file 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under food, Recipes

2 responses to “Brown Rice Pudding

  1. Lisa

    Did you make that bowl?

    • rebekkaguenther

      No, sadly I did not! This was actually a Pier One purchase – they are such cute little scalloped bowls, perfect for small portion desserts! ^_^

Leave a Reply

