Up-cycled pantry containers

I inherited a love of re-used glass jars from my dad. If you go into his garage, the workbench is rife with all sorts of mis-matched jars and containers filled with nails, screws, pencils, hardware, this and that. Despite the noble cause of recycling (and we love to recycled in the Northwest), we must also remember to reduce and reuse!

Glass jars are beautifully functional; they don’t stop being great containers once all the jam is used up or the pickles all eaten! Over the last year I’ve amassed an eclectic set of glass and plastic lidded containers. With just a tiny bit of effort, I’ve turned them into a set of pantry containers for all my dry bulk food stuffs!

Here’s a great example:

coffee bean jar

I had this fantastically huge glass jar (from Costco – marinated artichoke hearts-yumm!) and I just couldn’t bear to toss it in the recycle bin. After getting the label off with warm water, patience, and a little GooGone, all I needed to do was make it match my other containers. In order to keep the contents from being a mystery, I give the lids a chalkboard surface. Then I just chalk on what’s inside!

chalkboard lid

I’ve written about making things into chalkboards before, in this post. But my lovely fiance found something even better than what I had been using. Instead of a brush-applied chalkboard paint, he found a spray-paint version! (He found this for his own project – making a chalkboard surfaced guitar body. Aren’t we a creative bunch??)

Krylon Chalkboard spray paint

Now, having this stuff in spray-form is so much better, because you get a beautifully even and flat surface. No brush marks. No need to sand between coats. And it’s so much quicker to apply. Two thumbs up to M for finding this ^_^

So all I needed to do to make my lid a chalkboard surface was to tape off the edge of the lid (because I like the gold with the stripes, haha), leaving the top of the lid exposed.
Then, going outside where it’s nice and ventilated, and using lots of newspaper as a backdrop, I just sprayed on a nice even (and not-to-thick) coating of paint. After about an hour I went back out and did another coat. Two was all I needed.

After letting it dry for a day (just to be sure), it was ready to go!

So I can feel good for reusing a perfectly good storage container, and I actually really like my mis-matched set of chalkboard-topped jars. My dad would be so proud 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under DIY, projects, tutorial

One response to “Up-cycled pantry containers

  1. Beka, I’ve been hoping you would make another post and I am super glad that I checked on it today! Yes, DIY’s…they’re the best. I have been collecting glass jars in hopes of using them for candles for outside during the summer by filling them with sand and shells and then a tealight. However, I just don’t have the space to store them unitl it is warm enough to be outside to enjoy them. This is a perfect way to use them in the meantime! Smart smart girlie! 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

