Cookies for February

Valentine’s Day is coming up, and we all know that means giving sweet things to the ones we love. I plan to send some girly homemade cookies to my younger brothers. Both are living in Massachusetts right now (so far away!) and I like to send them reminders that their family is thinking of them. Awwwww

so many hearts!

I used the ever-popular sugar cookie recipe from Martha – found here. I did in fact make the whole recipe, but I froze half of the dough for another time. I produced around 50 cookies with only half the recipe!

Instead of making jam-filled sandwiches from the big hearts, I went with Baker’s white chocolate mixed with a little red food color for a pretty pink filling. I figure chocolate filling won’t be sticky and get all gummed up with crumbs when I mail the cookies. Presentation is key!

chocolate filled sandwich hearts

And finally, I also tried my hand at royal icing for the first time ever.

Mixing 1 egg white and enough powdered sugar to form a thick (but still viscous) paste. If it gets too thick, add a touch of water – a little does a lot.

Putting the thick icing in a ziploc sandwich bag and snipping the corner, you have an instant piping bag. The thick icing is great for outlines. Then, you can thin out the thick (leftover) icing with a bit more water and add color. This runny icing is great for filling in large areas. I used a toothpick to smooth the icing to the white outlines for a lovely, seamless finish!

cookies with royal icing

I’m no professional baker, but I am pretty pleased with how these turned out. If nothing else, I hope they bring a smile to my brothers’ faces when they get them in the mail. đŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Day to Day, food, Holidays, Recipes

Leave a Reply

