Keeping my cool

hot chocolate and computer work

I am not one who is prone to stress – I just don’t do stress, for the most part. But of course I am human, so I do on occasion have those heart palpitations accompanying the thoughts, “what am i doing??” And no, this has nothing to do with my wedding plans 😉

What I’m doing is………applying to grad school! This has been a long time coming.
I didn’t want to jump into more school right after I graduated from college. I felt I needed to give myself time, and find out what the world was outside of the classroom – who I was. When you think about it, if you go to college right after high school, that’s non-stop schooling from the time you’re 4 or 5 years old until you’re a full-blown adult. How are you supposed to know what’s out there, or who you are in a different setting?

No, I knew when I graduated from college that I needed some time outside of school. So it’s been six years, and it’s been wonderful. I know I made the right choice in taking my time and gaining perspective on the world, my life, where I’m going, what I love, and getting experience in the job world, gaining people skills and professional skills.

But now, I’ve made the decision to get back in there, and continue my formal education. But it’s stressful to put yourself on the line; to open yourself up to criticism and rejection. But that’s how you grow, right? If you meet with rejection you adjust, learn, and try again.

So as I complete this application process, every once in a while I have to step back, maybe make a cup of cocoa, and just breathe.

1 Comment

Filed under Day to Day

One response to “Keeping my cool

  1. Natalie

    You can do it! They would be fools not to accept you. By the way, cool picture with the teacup and saucer.

Leave a comment