Spring in the air?

Despite the bitter cold stretch that we had back in December (see this post), today is positively balmy! It’s almost 60 degrees, for crying out loud. And do I detect a slight springy aroma wafting on the breezes? It smells like flowers, I swear. Daffodils, maybe.

I was thinking I just had springtime hopes on my mind, but when I checked on the tulips I planted in November, this is what I found…

tulip sprouts!!

These guys are totally jumping the gun. It’s still only January! Don’t they know that?

I planted my bulbs in large planter pots, so they are above ground, and therefore, due to the warmish weather must think it’s time to grow. That’s fine by me, I just hope we don’t have some freak cold front rush in and kill my little babies.

But I am really excited to have pots and pots of brightly colored tulips this spring! Last year M & I took a day trip north to La Conner and the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival (dorky I know), but the tulips were so pretty! I couldn’t help myself ordering a whole box of bulbs of the varieties we liked the best.

Roozengaarde tulip farm was where we went and who we ordered from. And it was so convenient – I ordered them in the spring; forgot about it; then in November I get my box of bulbs all ready to be planted just then in order to bloom in the spring! Easy!

I just hope that this growing early thing doesn’t hurt them. I’ll be sure to post more pictures when they start to bloom. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Plants

Leave a Reply

