Creative card box

As I’ve mentioned, I’m a crafty kind of person; I like doing things myself. I also enjoy doing deviating from the norm or what is expected.

When my mother told me it would be wise to have a card box for wedding, I originally crinkled my nose in distaste. Those things are so gaudy (in my opinion) – I’m talking the silk-covered bejeweled boxes, or the fake 3-tiered cake with a card slit in it.

Not my style. I also don’t like the idea of expecting cards at all.

But my mom prevailed, with the logic that most likely there will be cards given, and they must be put somewhere. But if I was going to have a card box, I was going to make it myself, and it wouldn’t be the conventional kind.

At Goodwill, I found a fabulous vintage Samsonite train case that I just knew I had to do something with. This is what evolved…

vintage case with handpainted hydrangeas

To incorporate some of our wedding elements, I painted in black acrylic paint the silhouette of hydrangea flowers on the front. I used a spray-on sealer when the design had dried for durability.

Then, I knew I wanted to use this tutorial from 100 Layer Cake – making a ruffly belt – for something.

ruffles!

The ruffles came from the excess fabric from my mother’s wedding dress , and I love it.

C A R D S

And to make it simple enough, a hung garland indicating “cards” tells you what to do. Again I’m using one of my favorite new fonts Ecuyer Dax, punched out with my handy 2″ circle punch and strung with ribbon.

my unique card box

So the final presentation may be with the ruffly belt at the top or around the middle in the front; I haven’t decided yet. But either way, I think that this card box is unique, with vintage charm and a little bit of whimsy. Which is really just what I’m hoping for with this wedding. 🙂

Plus, double bonus! I’ll totally be able to use the train case AND the ruffly belt after the big day. Vintage, whimsical, handmade, and reusable – in a word, perfect.

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Inspiration, projects, Wedding

Leave a Reply

