Comfort food and decorating

Last week was filled with seeing friends, making good food, doing holiday stuff. Ahh, so fun.

Here are a few highlights…

Thursday night I made butternut squash ravioli (from scratch) with a mushroom walnut cream sauce that was sooooo yummy. But I made far too much of the squash filling, so I had leftovers, but it was too good to just throw out, so on Saturday, I used the rest of the filling to make a delish lasagna.

Layering homemade spaghetti sauce, butternut squash filling, parmesan & mozzarella cheeses, and Trader Joe’s “no bake” lasagna noodles, I cranked that thing out in no time! It’s amazing how easy things are when you have all the components on hand and ready to go.

Saturday was also the day M & I finally did our Christmas decorating. I for one, don’t like decorating for Christmas too early, and I’m glad M feels the same way. (As a child, my parents never bought the Christmas tree until mere days before the 25th. When you’re a kid, that is so lame! But now, as an adult, I can’t start Christmas too early. I just can’t!)

This year, we figured 12 days before Christmas was a good time – not too soon, but early enough so we would have time to enjoy the festive atmosphere. I finally got to break out the John Denver & The Muppets record that I found in perfect condition at Goodwill back in November! And of course, eggnog was had.

We decked the fireplace with faux evergreen garland, sparkling pears & apples, and silvery pinecones.

Our Norfolk pine tree (a year-round houseplant I bought a few years back) serves as our Christmas tree. He looks darling covered in white crystal beads, icy blue led lights, silver mini ornaments, and tinsel made of tiny silver coils.

The next couple weeks are going to be crazy with all the festivities that seem to pop up this time of year (I’m sure many are in the same boat). But at least with decorating accomplished, we’re ready for a little bit of Christmas crazy. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Day to Day, Holidays, Recipes

Leave a Reply

