Cake Walk

I’m heading south to Portland this weekend for an event that my uncle (the master baker) is hosting. It will involve a sweeping display of artfully designed gingerbread houses, a silent auction, and me taking photographs. I’m excited for a reason to hang out with the fam in that neck of the woods, as well as meet up with a friend whom I do not get to see nearly enough. Should be fun times, and it’s been a while since I’ve had a road trip.

Among other things, I’m really excited to sit down with my uncle and chat about…cakes! Being the pastry guru that he is, I could think of no one else that I would rather have make our wedding cake than Uncle Bill. 🙂 We are going to look over some examples of his work, and I’ll bring a few of my ideas to the table.

I don’t know what we’ll eventually come up with, but this is a small collection of what’s been catching my eye on the blogosphere as far as cakes are concerned. I like the idea of simple white frosting, with a hand-applied-looking texture, and either flowers or fruit. Blue or light green hydrangea blooms on a beautiful white cake? We’ll see what he thinks…after all, he is the expert.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Inspiration, Wedding

Leave a Reply

