Cable time – knitting, that is

For some reason, this fall has seen the revival of my knitting habit, which has been dormant for over a year. My new addiction is cables – turns out they’re not that difficult to do, and they look really impressive!
After getting the hang of it with a simple scarf with two rows of cables, I needed another project to keep me going – and then I saw this adorable hat while I was in Anthropologie –

cold-blooming hat by anthropologie

How great are those cables?? It looks so comfy. And I thought to myself, Hey I bet I could make something very similar to that with my new cabling skills.

small hat!

My first attempt didn’t work out so well…I made it much too short; it was almost yamaka sized. Very disappointing!
I hate to rip out knitting that I’ve done (all that work wasted!), but in the end what was I going to do with a hat this size?

I started over, this time with a wider rim, and made it taller, incorporating a second color. This one turned out much better. Practice makes perfect, right? And as I intended this to be a Christmas gift for someone, I’m glad it’s actually a wearable hat now!

completed cable hat

Yay! One Christmas gift down, many many to go. 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, Knitting, projects

Leave a Reply

