Fun DIY wedding bunting

For several months now I have been slowly planning my wedding (M and I got engaged in April). We ended up choosing a long engagement – we knew we wanted an outdoor (and therefore) summer wedding, but we weren’t sure we wanted to rush the planning and get married that summer. A year-plus engagement seemed very long to me (and sometimes still does), but it has meant that I have lots of time to plan, do craft projects, search thrift stores, etc for all the ideas that have developed for the special day.

festive bunting!

festive bunting!

Here is a project that is so simple to do, it just takes a bit of time. After seeing many examples of weddings (via my favorite wedding blogs) that incorporated bunting flags into the decor, I got my heart set on using the idea as well. It’s the kind of thing that literally makes me clap my hands and squeal with glee. ^_^

So here’s how I went about doing this project:

I wanted the flags to incorporate our wedding colors – navy blue and light-light green, and also some coordinating patterned fabric. Instead of going to the fabric store, I hit up Goodwill (recycling? check; right price? check). I found 4-5 nice pillowcases in the right colors – just 99 cents each! Sweet!

I also found 3 big spools of 1.5″ ribbon (a cool vintage lace!) for only $2.99. (I also found some double bias tape, which I didn’t end up using).

The first step, now that I had my supplies, was to make an isosceles triangle template for the flags. All you need to do is get a piece of paper, fold it in half, and cut out a diagonal line – corner to top. Unfold your paper to see your triangle. You can continue to tweak the shape (cutting while folded) until you get the triangle you like.

Lay your template on your fabric and cut out as many triangles as you need. My 5 pillowcases actually gave me plenty of flags to work with.

flags all ready to go

flags all ready to go

I decided not to use the bias tape, since it turned out I didn’t have enough length. Instead, I took my ribbon, and ironed the full length in half (so it was like I had a 3/4″ bias tape – plus the ribbon is much more decorative).

I decided I wanted 6″ of space between each flag, so I pinned each flag into the fold of the ribbon at 6″ apart, alternating the colors of the flags as I went. I also made sure to leave some extra length of ribbon at each end so they could be tied up.

Then, I simply went to the sewing machine and made a clean line from one end to the other!

P1010686web

sewing the flags to ribbon

You can also see I did a zig-zag stitch in contrasting thread to outline the flags – it’s up to you if you want to add this detail!

So that’s it! Hang it up and enjoy!

P1010688web

so festive!

Strings of bunting are simple to assemble, but they do take some time to do. I made three 22-foot-long strands for my project, but I did it in phases (I found my materials one day, cut the triangles another day, and assembled it all on yet another day).

Bunting is so cheerful, fun, and festive! I’m looking forward to seeing them hung up on my wedding day. ^_^

1 Comment

Filed under DIY, Wedding

One response to “Fun DIY wedding bunting

  1. Natalie

    Wow, another project. If you want any help, let me know and I’ll try not to mess it up too much 🙂

Leave a Reply

